Black Belt Body Of Knowledge

Black Belt Body Of Knowledge

The Certified Six Sigma Black Belt Body of Knowledge comprises a set of concepts that are considered to be universally accepted subject matter requirements for clarity in understanding the working of the six sigma Black Belt. It serves as the medium for individuals and institutions of six sigma respectively to derive value through understanding and designing course curriculums, examination patterns. It facilitates the students, in preparing for their exams, by knowing the specific set of topics that needs to be emphasized. The Six Sigma Black Belt Body of knowledge is structured based on the DMAIC framework for six sigma functions.

i). Define

ii). Measure

iii). Analyze

iv). Improve

v). Control

i). Define

Identification of the problem

Identification of the problem mainly involves, knowing the process and the possible obstacles that result in the deployment of Six Sigma, for subsequent process improvements. Also, identify the different parties to a particular project. Identifying the customer preferences, through feedback and converting feedback into results, through the application of various quality tools.

ii) Measure

Performance Assessment

This involves examining the process with respect to the performance variables(Input and Output). Establishing relationships between the input and output variable with the help of Cause and Effect diagrams and flowcharts. Application of statistical tools like the probability to draw a fine distinction between the population parameters and sample.

iii). Analysis

Root Cause Analysis

This involves analyzing the cause, which resulted in the variation, also the application of tools like FMEA(Failure Mode Effect Analysis) for identifying the cause for process failures, and MultiVariate Chart to analyze the different variations in the process.

iv). Improve

Design Of Experiment

The design of the Experiment refers to a statistical method that is concerned with the planning, analyzing, interpreting the values, or a group of parameters. It is a powerful data analysis tool that facilitates experimentation, by manipulating the input factors that lead to achieving a desirable output.

v). Control

Deployment of Lean Techniques

Control involves the deployment of Lean techniques and managing the entire project without the project getting derailed in the due course of time. There are multiple quality control tools available to help us with this. A few of them are listed below.

5s:- The 5 S for quality includes the following:-

a). Seiri:- Separation of unwanted tasks from the wanted tasks.
b). Seiton:- Ensuring the orderliness of the tasks by arranging them with respect to ease of use.
c). Seiso:- Cleanliness
d). Seiketsu:- Standardisation of the tasks by sorting and arranging them in a certain order.
e). Shitsuke:- Ensuring the sustainability of the process by constant repetition of the first four techniques.

Kanban: It involves the communication of the work status in real-time, by assigning them on boards. Kanban ensures transparency in the workflow mechanism. The practical application of this technique can be widely seen in inventory management, wherein the stocks of goods are managed in tune with customer requirements.

Poka-Yoke: It is a Japanese technique that renders a clear testimony for quality management, characterized by high efficiency. Poka-yoke is a technique that facilitates in ensuring the absence of any mistakes when done for the first time. Exercising quality control measures to ensure that the process remains at a certain level of efficiency. Keeping an eye on the process behavior by the application of tools like Statistical Process Control (SPC). Employing techniques like 5S and Poka-Yoke for visual control and immediate error detection possible.

Bloom’s Taxonomy Bloom’s Taxonomy as first introduced in 1956, by Benjamin Bloom helps in categorizing the education objectives based on the cognitive levels of thinking. The International Council For Quality emphasizes the learning process and the examination pattern, based on the following six levels mentioned below:-

i). Remember

ii). Understand

iii). Apply

iv). Analyse

v). Evaluate

Vi). Create